Benjamin’s Land of Confusion

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Land of Confusion.”

As Benjamin and Jennifer laid on their backs and watched the stars above, Jennifer turned to face Benjamin, and asked him “What’s your favorite school subject?”

Never the studious type, Benjamin’s stomach reflexively knotted up anytime people discussed anything related to academics.

“I’m planning on joining the Marine Corps after high school, so that stuff doesn’t really matter to me.” Benjamin stated, in his best tough-guy voice, hoping Jennifer would be intimidated and stop down this line of questioning.

“Of course you need to know Mathematics and English, haha!” Jennifer replied, mistakenly thinking that Benjamin was joking. “We’ve been together 4 months and you still won’t open up to me! This is our junior year of high school, so we need to start thinking about colleges together. Maybe we can both go to Georgia Tech together!”

“I-I…I’m not very good at school, and Mathematics is my worst subject.” Benjamin confessed to Jennifer. Benjamin suddenly felt a lightness between the two of them.

Benjamin continued: “Do you remember the 3rd grade with Ms. Carter?”

“Yes, with the pet iguana that got out of its cage and Ms. Carter found it in her desk 3 days later?” Jennifer asked.

“Yes, Well that year I was struggling with math but still doing pretty well. I asked Steven to help me with my homework and he ended up telling all the other boys that I couldn’t read or count. After that they all made fun of me and I never cared about learning math from that day on.” Benjamin looked at Jennifer, who was watching him the whole time.

Jennifer scooted her body to where Benjamin was laying down on his back, and when she was right next to him, gave him a kiss on his forehead.

