Who I am and Why I’m Here

My name is Joaquin and I am creating this blog as an outlet for different stories I write.

Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I am keeping a public blog rather than keeping a personal journal because I want to receive feedback on my writing and continue to improve as a writer. I am a 27 year old graduate student studying Mining Engineering. I am originally from Albuquerque, New Mexico. I want to publish a book and creating a blog will keep me writing, exploring characters, and a place where I can begin to flesh out ideas, and a start for a book. I have kept many blogs before, including personal blogs (livejournal) but this will be specifically for literature and short stories.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

I write primarily short stories which are a mix of fantasy, science fiction and erotic literature, involving a variety of characters caught in fascinating circumstance. I look forward to exploring my artwork with an audience. Most of my topics will involve elements of philosophy, literature, emotion and eroticism while characters reveal themselves throughout each story.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

I would like to connect with other authors and writers who have published books. I hope to receive mentoring on my short stories and feedback from an audience.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

I would love to have written 100,000 (Approximately 2 novels) worth of material, hundreds of short stories, and also networked with literature fanatics.

7 thoughts on “Who I am and Why I’m Here

  1. Awesome intro dude! Also, I wish you the best of luck with your goals.

    Also, because this is your first post, I thought I may as well give you some tips that’ll help get this blog off the ground. Firstly, create a schedule, and stick to it! For instance, this could be every Friday at 2PM, or every Sunday at 4:05AM. Make a schedule that fits you, as after all, it is YOUR blog! This’ll allow you to get into a routine, and will allow your readers to know what to expect, and when to expect it.

    Secondly, make sure to engage with us, your fellow blogging community. Seek out blogs with interests that parallel yours, and comment on posts which make you want to share your opinions. Who knows, perhaps the author will reciprocate, and ultimately start following you! On bigger blogs, the author may even feature your blog on a post, sending their followers your way, netting you quite a number of new followers, which will both increase your motivation as well as incentive to write, allowing you to keep to your schedule.

    Anyway, hope these helped!

    Like

  2. Hello, thanks for dropping by and the like on Desert Moon Musings. All the best in your endeavor (having a goal means you’re halfway there) to write. I look forward to reading more about Ben and Jen.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.